4 mins read

How to share your Instagram stories only with close friends

When you send something to your close friends, you have a tendency to be yourself. You can post sillier images that you wouldn’t normally post to all your Instagram followers; After all, you have a reputation to uphold.

Thanks to an Instagram feature that lets you send your stories only to your close friends, you can really be yourself. Instagram announced this feature on November 30, so if you haven’t seen it yet, don’t worry, it’s coming.

How to create a list of close Instagram friends

Before you go ahead and share your stories with close friends, make sure your real close friends are actually on the list. To add someone to your close friends list, tap the hamburger icon at the top right.

The “Close Friends” option will be third down, and after selecting it, you can search for them manually. Instagram will also suggest people you want to add to the list, but it’s up to you who to add.

If you ever want to edit your close friends list, another way to access the list is by tapping the green close friends list at the top right of your story. Tap “Edit your close friends list” to make your edits.

Instagram will show you the users you interact with frequently and suggest them as close friends. Tap the green “Add” button and that close friend will be added immediately.

When you add a close friend, the other person will not receive a notification informing them that they have been added to the list. They’ll be able to tell they’re on your close friends list because the posts you share with that group will have a green circle around them.

Once you’re done adding your close friends, they will appear in your Close Friends list. Next to that friend you will see a green Delete button. If you ever decide to unfriend that friend, that’s the button you should press.

How to share Instagram stories only with close friends

When it comes to creating your Instagram Story, you’ll create it as you normally would. Once you’re done, it’s time to share it. There are two ways to access the Close Friends option. The easiest way is to tap the green close friends circle at the bottom.

If for some reason you want to go the long way, tap the “Send to” button and the Close Friends option. It’s just below the “Your Story” option.

If you don’t see the Close Friends option, make sure you’re using the most recent version of Instagram. Even if your apps usually update automatically, it’s a good idea to see if you have any pending updates.

Conclusion

Sometimes there are things that only your close friends should see. Thanks to the Close Friends option, you’ll only need to press one button to send those weird or funny Instagram Stories to friends who will hopefully remain your friends after seeing them.

How to Use “Add Your Own” Stickers on Instagram Stories

How to watch videos together with your Instagram friends

How to download Instagram Stories

Apps to create collages for Instagram stories

How to search Instagram photos, videos and stories without being registered

Storiesig: The website to view Instagram Stories without having an account

Instagram will enable a button to see all stories

Even the Xbox app now has stories like Instagram and many other apps.

How to download Instagram Stories and Highlights on Android

How to copy and share an Instagram profile link